Living Simply with a Handful and Quietness

Frugalness, Simple Living and thoughts about Christ.

Ethan Robert……. November 13, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — handfulofquietness @ 10:54 pm

 

Ethan Robert arrived with a bang on Friday, November 7th at 2:01pm. I went for a “before the weekend checkup” at 37w2d, and after laying in Labor and Delivery for about 2 hours (remember this was the 9th trip there!) the nurse came in with another nurse and said “you’re being prepped for a c right now!” I just about fell off the bed – we had made plans for that night and I knew I was going home, but plans changed quickly! That was at 12:55pm, I had enough time to get my husband there from work, and they wheeled me into the OR at 1:40.  He was 6pounds, 7 ounces and 19 inches long! Perfectly healthy! NO effects from the high blood pressure! I was on full bedrest for just under 5 weeks.

 

 

 

 

God is soooooo GOOD!!!

 

 

Now for the question – for those of you who have children, please please give me some reassurance that this does get easier! I remember the sleepless nights with Ryan, but I didn’t have my husband home at night. Tim doesn’t do well on little sleep – last night he actually was having chest pains and was almost delierious, that’s how his body adjusts. I really don’t want to co-sleep this time, but Ethan wakes Tim up too nearly every time. Last night we were up 6 times in 8 hours. He wants to either sleep beside me or on top of my chest. I spent the night sitting up on the couch, which doesn’t lend to a comfy mommy, especially only 6 days after a csection! I know many moms say that their husbands are what got them through, but I honestly can’t have Tim helping much because of this physical problem when he doesn’t get enough rest. Any tips? He has a basinette, but when you lay him down in it he wakes right back up.

 

3 Responses to “Ethan Robert…….”

  1. Alana Says:

    Congrats! He is adorable!

  2. Lori Says:

    Thank you for sharing your precious bundle with us. The cool thing about God is that He really never gives us more than we can handle. I have 5 kids, and my 5th started sleeping through the night (7hours) at 4 weeks – on breastmilk. Crazy. My first three didn’t do that, but God knew I needed things to be a bit easier this time…so don’t worry sis, It’ll be a cinch – you can do this!

  3. Tosha Says:

    He is beautiful!

    I also had a c section. DH wasnt any help at night either, but during the day he cared for my DD while i took care of DS and slept when the baby slept. He was off work until DS was 4 months old(work related injury). I am so thankful that he was there during that time, i dont know how i would have made it through without him Do you have friends or family close by that could come over to lend a hand with your older child so you could nap with the baby?

    Ds also wanted to sleep on or really close to me as a newborn. If he wasnt near me he would grunt and growl and eventually yell so we just let him have his way. He sleeps on his own part of the night now(10 months) and the other part he is with me in the bed.

    Good luck finding a way to get through the first 4 months or so! It does get easier, just be patient!


Leave a Reply

